Cannes 2024 Unveils Star-Studded Competition Jury Lineup

Cannes 2024 Unveils Star-Studded Competition Jury Lineup

The 77th Cannes Film Festival has announced its jury members, including notable figures from the film industry. The jury, led by director Greta Gerwig, consists of French actors Omar Sy and Eva Green, Oscar-nominated actor Lily Gladstone, Italian actor Pierfrancesco Favino, Japanese director Hirokazu Kore-eda, Spanish director Juan Antonio Bayona, Lebanese director Nadine Labaki, and Turkish screenwriter Ebru Ceylan. This diverse panel will review 22 films competing for the prestigious Palme d'Or.

The festival, which runs from May 14 to May 25, will showcase a variety of films including Francis Ford Coppola's "Megalopolis," Ali Abbasi's biopic "The Apprentice," and works by David Cronenberg and Yorgos Lanthimos. The event will open with Quentin Dupieux's "The Second Act" and will also feature a special Honorary Palme d’Or for Studio Ghibli and a restoration of the 1946 film "Gilda" in celebration of Columbia Pictures' centenary.

Winners of the various categories, including the coveted Palme d'Or, will be announced during the festival's closing ceremony on May 25.


Other news in entertainment